Louisville Players Highlight Maxwell and Bednarik Watchlists

Earlier today, the Maxwell Football Club released its watch lists for both the Bednarik and Maxwell Awards.  The Bednarik Award is given annually to the best collegiate defensive player (currently held by Manti Te’o) and the Maxwell Award is presented to whomever they deem as the best college football player (currently held by Manti Te’o as well).

Winning any award is an honor, and Louisville has a pretty good shot at having one of their players being named as the winner of one of these awards.

There’s only one player on the Maxwell Watch List, and that’s Teddy Bridgewater, the junior Louisville QB who is also on everyone’s Heisman radar.  Bridgewater had an oustanding season last year, leading Louisville to an 11-2 record that included a share of the Big East title and a Sugar Bowl victory.

Louisville has two players on the Bednarik watch list, safeties Hakeem Smith and Calvin Pryor.  Both of them were excellent safeties last season, but in order to bolster their chances of winning the Bednarik Award, they really need to boost their interception numbers, both of which had one last season.  I think they can though, as their skills will definitely have improved over the summer.  Their tackle numbers are great too, but improving the number of sacks wouldn’t hurt.

A link to the watch lists can be found here.

Topics: Calvin Pryor, Football, Hakeem Smith, Louisville Cardinals, Louisville Cardinals Football, Louisville Football, Teddy Bridgewater

Want more from Big Red Louie?  
Subscribe to FanSided Daily for your morning fix. Enter your email and stay in the know.